• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Colson Whitehead, Jericho Brown, and Anne Boyer just won Pulitzer Prizes.

    Katie Yee

    May 4, 2020, 3:29pm

    The winners of this year’s Pulitzer Prizes were just announced via video stream. Originally scheduled for April 20th, the announcement was postponed this year because of the pandemic. The award ceremony, typically held in May at Columbia University, will be held in the fall.

    “More than ever, this moment highlights journalism’s mission to provide a vital public service. It also demonstrates literature and the arts’ ability to transport and uplift the human spirit during trying times,” says Pulitzer Prize Administrator Dana Canedy.

    Congratulations to this year’s class of Pulitzer Prize winners!



    Colson Whitehead, The Nickel Boys
    [Read our interview with Whitehead here]


    Ann Patchett, The Dutch House
    [Read Ann Patchett in conversation with Mary Laura Philpott here]

    Ben Lerner, The Topeka School
    [Read our critic’s take on The Topeka School here]



    Sweet Taste of Liberty

    W. Caleb McDaniel, Sweet Taste of Liberty


    Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor, Race for Profit
    [Read Taylor on why we still need Howard Zinn here]

    Greg Grandlin, The End of the Myth
    [Read an excerpt from the book here]



    Benjamin Moser, Sontag
    [Read an excerpt from the book here]


    George Packer, Our Man

    Deirdre Bair, Parisian Lives
    [Read Sydney Ladensohn Stern on Bair here]



    Jericho Brown, The Tradition

    Jericho Brown, The Tradition
    [Read Brown’s poem “Correspondence” here]


    Mary Ruefle, Dunce
    [Read Ruefle’s poem “Sent to the Monk” here]

    Dorianne Laux, Only as the Day Is Long
    [Read Laux’s poem “Ideas of Heaven” here]



    Anne Boyer, The Undying

    Anne Boyer, The Undying
    [Read an excerpt from the book here]

    The End of the Myth

    Greg Grandin, The End of the Myth


    Louise Aronson, Elderhood
    [Read an excerpt from the book here]

    Albert Woodfox with Leslie George, Solitary
    [Listen to an interview with Woodfox here]


    See the full list of winners and finalists here.

    Deep Dive: Every Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Winner of the 21st Century


  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: