• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here’s the shortlist for the £10,000 Caine Prize.

    Katie Yee

    May 20, 2020, 11:07am

    For the past 20 years, the AKO Caine Prize for African Writing has encouraged and spotlighted the diversity and power of African writing. Every year, the prize goes to an African writer of a short story published in English. (Why short stories? They speak to the African story-telling tradition.) Past recipients of the Caine Prize include Leila Aboulela, NoViolet Bulawayo, and Lesley Nneka Arimah.

    Each shortlisted writer will receive £500, and the winner of this £10,000 prize will be announced in the fall.


    Erica Sugo Anyadike, “How To Marry An African President”
    (adda: Commonwealth Stories)

    Chikodili Emelumadu, “What to do when your child brings home a Mami Wata
    (The Shadow Booth: Vol. 2)

    Jowhor Ile, “Fisherman’s Stew”
    (The Sewanee Review)

    Rémy Ngamije, “The Neighbourhood Watch”
    (The Johannesburg Review of Books)

    Irenosen Okojie, “Grace Jones”
    (Nudibranch, published by Hachette)


    You can read the shortlisted stories here.

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: