• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here is the 2023 Miles Franklin award shortlist.

    Janet Manley

    June 20, 2023, 9:15am

    Six authors have been named to the shortlist for the 2023 Miles Franklin award, Australia’s top literary gong, with a AU$60,000 prize being dangled for the eventual winner.

    Article continues below

    The shortlist is:

    Jessica Au, Cold Enough for Snow

    Robbie Arnott, Limberlost

    Yumna Kassab, The Lovers

    Article continues below

    Fiona Kelly McGregor, Iris

    Shankari Chandran, Chai Time at the Cinnamon Gardens

    Kgshak Akec, Hopeless Kingdom

    The stories crisscross through time and traverse from Australia to Sri Lanka, Japan, and the migrant trail from South Sudan—any tale that “presents Australian life in any of its phases” is eligible, and I appreciate the fluidity there. Jessica Au’s Cold Enough for Snow has already taken honors in the $100,000 Victorian prize for literature and the $25,000 fiction category at the Victorian premier’s literary awards. Fiona Kelly McGregor’s Iris was longlisted for the Stella prize.

    The Miles Franklin award is named for Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin, who of course wrote My Brilliant Career. The Stella prize, awarded to a nonbinary or female author, is likewise named for her. The winner will be announced on July 25th.

    Article continues below

    [h/t The Guardian]

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.