The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

19 new books to add to your summer reading list—hurry!

Katie Yee

August 18, 2020, 9:30am

Ah, the days of summer are winding down. The days are getting shorter. The leaves are starting to brown. The air feels a little crisper. (Unless you’re in Death Valley. Global warming is real!!) Before we switch over to full-blown sweater weather, here are some new titles to sneak onto your summer reading list.

*

the patron saint of pregnant girls_ursula hegi

Ursula Hegi, The Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls
(Flatiron)

“Mesmerizing … Hegi’s command of the plot and ability to render poignant characters create a satisfyingly emotional story.”
–Publishers Weekly

 

Rick Perlstein, Reaganland

Rick Perlstein, Reaganland
(Simon & Schuster)

“A hallmark of Perlstein’s work is his blending of political and cultural history, often a tricky balance.”
–Slate

 

a room called earth_madeleine ryan

Madeleine Ryan, A Room Called Earth
(Penguin)

“The narrator’s voice is astute, clear and strong as the vodka she likes, as luminous as sparkling stars. Madeleine Ryan has created a marvelous woman and a joyous story.”
–Shelf Awareness

 

nothernmost_peter geye

Peter Geye, Northernmost
(Knopf)

“One man’s terrifying story of survival in an Arctic wasteland reverberates profoundly in the life of his distant descendant.”
–Kirkus

 

Nazanine Hozar, Aria
(Pantheon)

“Hozar expertly weaves people in and out of Aria’s life and crafts a living, breathing environment for her heroine to inhabit, and brings things to a charged climax. This will be hard for readers to shake.”
–Publishers Weekly

 

work mate marry love _ debora l spar

Debora L. Spar, Work Mate Marry Love
(FSG)

“Spar’s explanations of how specific technologies developed are lucid and insightful. Readers will take comfort in this clear-eyed assessment of humanity’s ability to adapt to technological change.”
–Publishers Weekly

 

Black Bottom Saints_Alice Randall

Alice Randall, Black Bottom Saints
(Amistad)

“The last testament of an African American showbiz insider is here rendered as an impassioned, richly detailed, and sometimes heartbreaking evocation of Black culture in 20th century Detroit and beyond.”
–Kirkus

 

borges and me_jay parini

Jay Parini, Borges and Me
(Doubleday)

“Fans of both Borges and Parini will delight in this touching coming-of-age memoir.”
–Publishers Weekly

 

time of the magicians_wolfram eilenberger

Wolfram Eilenberger, Time of the Magicians
(Penguin Press)

“[Eilenberger’s] lucid presentation of his characters’ often hard-to-comprehend thinking and the muddy language in which they expressed it make this book invaluable for anyone seeking to learn about these extraordinary figures.”
–Kirkus

 

stanley kubrick_david mikics

David Mikics, Stanley Kubrick: American Filmmaker
(Yale University Press)

“Kubrick fans will enjoy this brisk but thorough biography of a consummate filmmaker.”
–Publishers Weekly

 

The Queen of Tuesday

Darin Strauss, The Queen of Tuesday
(Random House)

“…the questions of how family legends both obscure and reveal the truth will keep readers turning the pages.”
–Publishers Weekly

 

the new american, micheline aharonian marcom

Micheline Aharonian Marcom, The New American
(Simon & Schuster)

“[A] poetic nightmarescape that hums with foreboding and the anguish of lost innocence.”
–Booklist

 

the smallest lights in the universe_sara seager

Sara Seager, The Smallest Lights in the Universe
(Crown)

“The interior journey she traces here is as extraordinary as her scientific career. A singular scientist has written a singular account of her life and work.”
–Kirkus

 

Lawrence Osborne, The Glass Kingdom

Lawrence Osborne, The Glass Kingdom
(Hogarth)

“A seductive, darkly atmospheric thriller with a spine-tingling climax.”
–Kirkus

 

Chris Hamby, Soul Full of Coal Dust

Chris Hamby, Soul Full of Coal Dust
(Little, Brown)

“A solid contribution to the literature of resource extraction and its discontents.”
–Kirkus

 

Jessica Gross, Hysteria

Jessica Gross, Hysteria
(Unnamed Press)

“Gross succeeds in capturing the complexities of sex addiction. It is every bit a page-turner as it is a descent into sexual madness.”
–Publishers Weekly

 

Marieke Lucas Rijneveld, tr. Michele Hutchison, The Discomfort of Evening

Marieke Lucas Rijneveld, The Discomfort of the Evening
(Graywolf)

“There is a bold beauty to the book, which for all its modernity seems to be set in a different age of automatic religious belief.”
–The Economist

 

Emma Jane Unsworth, Grown Ups

Emma Jane Unsworth, Grown Ups
(Gallery/Scout)

“This witty novel could not be more spot on for our day and age, told through texts, emails and social media posts as Jenny navigates floundering friendships, career failures and best of all, living again with her mother in her 30s.”
–Newsweek

 

Lisa Hanwalt_I Want you

Lisa Hanawalt, I Want You
(Drawn & Quarterly)

“They hit as freshly funny and subversive, and will appeal to dedicated fans of Hanawalt’s peculiar oeuvre as well as those just getting an introduction.”
–Publishers Weekly

 

%d bloggers like this: