• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Rabih Alameddine takes home the 2022 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.

    Katie Yee

    April 5, 2022, 5:03pm

    Rabih Alameddine has won this year’s PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction for his novel, The Wrong End of the Telescope.

    The novel was selected by judges Eugenia Kim, Rebecca Makkai, and Rion Amilcar Scott. It stood out among the 500 eligible novels and short story collections by American authors published during this past year, submitted by over 200 publishing houses. The PEN/Faulkner Award is the country’s most prestigious peer-juried literary honor. It also comes with a very nice $15,000 prize.

    Of the winning novel, the judges have said, “Putting no moral gloss on its subjects, and infused with the gravitas of a fittingly Greek mythos, this novel explores the complexities of the refugees’ lives and the intricacies of Mina’s relationships, examines the many angles of a timely and vital subject, and probes the life-changing choices humans are forced to make. The exquisite language suspends time and investigates the intricacies of seeking refuge, both from geo-political disruptions and from one’s own patterns of life. In a year of stunning and important fiction, this work stands as a particular achievement: a novel that cries out to be heard and that teaches us, both intrinsically and extrinsically, what story can do.” 

    Hungry for more? You can read a short story by the winner here.

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: