The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

Here is the 2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction longlist.

Dan Sheehan

March 2, 2020, 8:15pm

Across the pond in foggy London town the longlist for the Women’s Prize for Fiction has just been announced. This year’s list of nominees is particularly star-studded, and includes such luminaries as Edna O’Brien, Jenny Offil, Bernardine Evaristo, Jacqueline Woodson, and Hilary Mantel.

Considered to be one of the world’s most prestigious literary awards, the Women’s Prize for Fiction (formerly known as the Orange Prize), is presented annually to a female author of any nationality for the best original full-length novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom in the preceding year. The victorious writer receives a cool £30,000, along with a handsome bronze sculpture known as the Bessie. Previous winners include Zadie Smith, Marilynne Robinson, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Téa Obreht, Ann Patchett, and Barbara Kingsolver.

Here are the sixteen titles nominated for this year’s award:


Deepa Anappara, Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line

Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara

Taffy Brodesser-Akner, Fleishman Is In Trouble

Fleishman is in Trouble by Taffy Brodesser-Akner


Queenie by Candice Carty-Williams

Angie Cruz, Dominicana

Dominicana by Angie Cruz

Anne Enright, Actress

Actress by Anne Enright

Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo

Nightingale Point

Nightingale Point by Luan Goldie

A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes

How We Disappeared Jing-Jing Lee

How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee

Claire Lombardo, The Most Fun We Ever Had

The Most Fun We Ever Had by Claire Lombardo

Hilary Mantel, The Mirror & The Light

The Mirror and the Light by Hilary Mantel

Girl Edna O'Brien

Girl by Edna O’ Brien


Hamnet by Maggie O’ Farrell

Jenny Offill, Weather; design by John Gall (Knopf, February 11)

Weather by Jenny Offill

The Dutch House

The Dutch House by Ann Patchett

Jacqueline Woodson, Red at the Bone

Red at the Bone by Jacqueline Woodson


A shortlist of six will be announced on April 22nd, with the overall winner being revealed on June 3rd.

%d bloggers like this: