• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the winners of the 2021 National Book Awards.

    Literary Hub

    November 17, 2021, 8:37pm

    Tonight, in a digital ceremony hosted by Phoebe Robinson, the National Book Foundation announced the winners of its 2021 National Book Awards in Young People’s Literature, Translated Literature, Poetry, Nonfiction, and Fiction. The winners in each category will receive $10,000 and a bronze medal and statue; finalists will receive $1,000 and a bronze medal. (Bragging rights are also involved.) So without any further ado, raise a glass to your latest crop of National Book Award winners:


    Jason Mott, Hell of a Book
    Dutton / Penguin Random House



    Tiya Miles, All That She Carried: The Journey of Ashley’s Sack, a Black Family Keepsake
    Random House / Penguin Random House



    Martín Espada, Floaters
    W. W. Norton & Company



    Elisa Shua Dusapin, Winter in Sokcho
    Translated from the French by Aneesa Abbas Higgins
    (Open Letter)



    Malinda Lo, Last Night at the Telegraph Club
    (Dutton Books for Young Readers / Penguin Random House)

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: