• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Arinze Ifeakandu has won the 2022 Republic of Consciousness prize.

    Janet Manley

    March 28, 2023, 8:56am

    In a win for small presses, the 2022 Republic of Consciousness Prize winner has been announced: God’s Children Are Little Broken Things: Stories by Arinze Ifeakandu, published by A Public Space Books.

    God’s Children Are Little Broken Things has also been longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize and is a 2023 finalist for the 2022 Kirkus Prize for Fiction. The collection presents stories of queer love in contemporary Nigeria.

    God's Children Are Little Broken Things

    Ifeakandu was born in Kano, Nigeria, is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and is currently pursuing a PhD at Florida State University.

    The $35,000 prize purse is distributed between authors and presses, and shared across the shortlist, which was announced in March.

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.