• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    After controversy, the National Book Critics Circle has announced its new board members.

    Aaron Robertson

    July 15, 2020, 4:00pm

    One month after controversy over an anti-racism pledge led most board members of the National Book Critics Circle to resign, the organization has announced its newest slate of board members.

    In June, a working committee led by Hope Wabuke drafted a pledge in response to the nationwide protests following George Floyd’s death. After board member Carlin Romano criticized the pledge, some of his colleagues attempted to remove him from the board. Romano threatened to sue in retaliation.

    Five of the fifteen “new” board members are returning after their earlier resignation. The fifteen members, which include a mix of poets, novelists, essayists, and academics, are:

    Diego Baez
    Stephanie Burt
    Rod Davis
    Charles Finch
    Rigoberto Gonzalez
    Megan Labrise
    Chelsea Leu
    Tara Wanda Merrigan
    Ismail Muhammad
    Ben Olguín
    J. Howard Rosier
    Elizabeth Taylor
    David Varno
    Oscar Villalon
    Harriet Washington

    At the time of the NBCC’s announcement, more than 30 of the organization’s members were continuing to explore ways to legally remove Romano from the board.

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: