• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Who’s going to take home Canada’s biggest cash prize for literature?

    Katie Yee

    September 30, 2019, 1:45pm

    The shortlist for the 2019 Scotiabank Giller Prize was just announced.

    For the past 26 years, the Giller Prize has been celebrating Canadian fiction writers. They award the largest purse for literature in the country, a whopping $25,000 cash prize! (Okay, that’s in Canadian dollars. But we did the math and it’s $18,875.50 USD—still nothing to sneeze at.) Notable past award recipients include Alice Munro, Margaret Atwood, and Michael Ondaatje.

    Congratulations to all the shortlisted authors!

    David Bezmozgis, Immigrant City


    Megan Gail Coles, Small Game Hunting at the Local Coward Gun Club


    Michael Crummey, The Innocents


    Alix Ohlin, Dual Citizens

    (Pssst: we’ve got Alix Ohlin recommending five great novels about sisters over on Book Marks.)

    Steven Price, Lampedusa


    Ian Williams, Reproduction


  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: