• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    The Women’s Prize for Fiction has announced their 2024 shortlist.

    James Folta

    April 24, 2024, 8:00am

    The Women’s Prize Trust, which “creates equitable opportunities for women in the world of books,” has announced the shortlist for its fiction prize, which spotlights English-language novels written by women.

    This year, the shortlists highlighted six novels that “both focus on intimate family relationships, as well as those that convey a sweep of history, always with an eye on the particularity of women’s experience.”

    Cover of Anne Enright's novel The Wren, The Wren. Green with a blue bird.

    Anne Enright, The Wren

    V. V. Ganeshananthan, Brotherless Night

    V. V. Ganeshananthan, Brotherless Night


    Kate Grenville, Restless Dolly Maunder

    Isabella Hammad, Enter Ghost

    Isabella Hammad, Enter Ghost

    Claire Kilroy, Soldier Sailor

    river east, river west

    Aube Rey Lescure, River East, River West

    Judges Monica Ali, Ayọb̀ámi Adébáyọ, Laura Dockrill, Indira Varma, and Anna Whitehouse will select the winning novel, to be announced on June 13, 2024 at the Women’s Prize Trust’s summer party in London. The winner will receive £30,000 as well as a bronze statuette known as the “Bessie.”

    Last year’s winner was Barabara Kingsolver, for her novel Demon Copperhead.

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: