The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

The shortlist for this year’s Arthur C. Clarke Award is all debuts.


June 30, 2021, 12:03pm

The Arthur C. Clarke Award, which recognizes the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year, has released their 2021 shortlist—and for the first time in the award’s 35-year history, the shortlist is entirely made up of debut novels.

“As we announce our 35th Clarke Award shortlist, I’m reminded of Sir Arthur’s wish that the prize continue to reflect the best of UK science fiction, and not one fixed definition of it,” said award director Tom Hunter. “With this shortlist I believe our judges not only met the challenge, they’ve raised the bar.”

Without further ado, here’s the shortlist:


Patience Agbabi, The Infinite (Canongate)

Simon Jimenez, The Vanished Birds (Titan)

Hao Jingfang, Vagabonds (Head of Zeus)

R.B. Kelly, Edge of Heaven (NewCon Press)

Laura Jean McKay, The Animals in that Country (Scribe)

Valerie Valdes, Chilling Effect (Orbit)


Congratulations to all recognized!


[h/t The Bookseller]

%d bloggers like this: