• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    The Rona Jaffe Foundation celebrates six emerging women writers.

    Katie Yee

    August 27, 2019, 4:57pm

    Congratulations to Selena Anderson, Magogodi oaMphela Makhene, Sarah Passino, Nicolette Polek, Elizabeth Schambelan, and Debbie Urbanski, who just won this year’s Rona Jaffe Foundation Award!

    For the past 25 years, the Rona Jaffe Foundation has been dedicated to supporting new female writers. (Past recipients include Elif Batuman, Rivka Galchen, ZZ Packer, and Tracy K. Smith.) In line with their mission to “identify and support emergent women writers of exceptional promise in recognition of the special contributions women artists make to our culture,” the Rona Jaffe Foundation will award each of this year’s winners a whopping $40,000. But wait—there’s more! The winners will also be honored at a celebration on September 12th in New York City, where Jacqueline Woodson will be the guest speaker.


    [h/t Publishers Weekly]