• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    The full list of writers nominated for the 1971 Nobel Prize in Literature includes just one woman.


    January 6, 2022, 3:11pm

    As Kaj Scheueler reported for Swedish newspaper Svenska Dagbladet, newly opened archives from the Swedish Academy have given the public a window into the Nobel Prize in Literature judging panel’s deliberations in 1971. That year, Pablo Neruda ultimately took the prize—but according to the archives, Anders Österling, Nobel committee chair, initially wondered if the “increasingly dominant communist tendency in his poetry is compatible with the purpose of the Nobel prize.”

    Among the Swedish Academy’s unveiled documents is the judging committee’s list of 90 contenders for the 1971 prize. There are some familiar faces—like Nabokov, Borges, James Baldwin, Edward Albee, Tennessee Williams—as well as less well-known figures. Notably, there’s only one woman on the list: expressionistic Estonian poet and translator Marie Under, who was nominated for the Nobel eight times and helped found the Estonian Writers Union.

    Here’s the full list:

    Edward Albee

    Jorge Amado

    Jerzy Andrzejewski

    Louis Aragon

    José-Maria Arguedas

    Wystan Hugh Auden

    Riccardo Bacchelli

    James Baldwin

    Tarashankar Bandyopadhyay

    Mikola Bažan

    Saul Bellow

    Jorge Luis Borges

    Jawad Boulos

    Michel Butor

    Heinrich Bōll

    Elias Canetti

    Alejo Carpentier

    David Cecil

    Aimé Césaire och Léopold Sédar Senghor

    André Chamson

    Fazil Hüsnü Daglarca

    Tsendin Damdinsüren

    Paul Demiéville

    Lawrence Durrell

    Friedrich Dürrenmatt

    Rabbe Enckell

    Salvador Espriu

    Romain Gary

    Maurice Genevoix

    William Golding

    Günter Grass

    Graham Greene

    Jorge Guillén

    Paavo Haavikko

    William Heinesen

    Vladimir Holan

    Eugène Ionesco

    Roman Jakobson

    Eyvind Johnson

    Younghill Kang

    Richard E. Kim

    Miroslav Krleža

    Karl Krolow

    Erich Kästner

    Arthur Koestler

    Philip A. Larkin

    Siegfried Lenz

    Väinö Linna

    Compton Mackenzie

    Archibald MacLeish

    Hugh L. MacLennan

    Salvador de Madariaga

    André Malraux

    Jacques Maritain

    Harry Martinson

    Miguel Melendres de Tarragone

    Arthur Miller

    Eugenio Montale

    Henry de Montherlant

    Vilhelm Moravia

    Vladimir Nabokov

    Pablo Neruda

    Fritiof Nilsson Piraten

    Mikhail Nu’ayma

    Ezra Pound

    Evaristo Ribera Chevremont

    Yannis Ritsos

    Alain Robb-Grillet

    Tadeusz Różewicz

    Hans Ruin

    Georges Schehadé

    Arno Schmidt

    Robert Shih

    Claude Simon

    Charles Percy Snow

    Zaharia Stancu

    Marie Under

    Gérard Walschap

    Mika Waltari

    Simon Vestdijk

    Sándor Weöres

    Patrick White

    Elie Wiesel

    Thornton Wilder

    José Garcia Villa

    Henry Williamson

    Angus Wilson

    Carl Zuckmayer

    Tennessee Williams

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: