The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

Tanzanian novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah has won the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Emily Temple

October 7, 2021, 7:11am

Congratulations to Tanzanian novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah, who was announced this morning as the winner of the 2021 Nobel Prize in Literature, for “for his uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the effects of colonialism and the fate of the refugee in the gulf between cultures and continents.”

Gurnah, who writes in English and is based in the UK, is the author of ten novels, including Paradise (1994), which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize, Desertion (2005), and By the Sea (2001), which was shortlisted for the Los Angeles Times Book Award. His most recent novel is Afterlives (2020).

%d bloggers like this: