Read the PEN/Bingham Finalists for Best Debut Fiction

Fiction by Antopol, Klay, Tierce, Bond, and Livings

June 5, 2015  By Literary Hub

The PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize honors an exceptionally talented fiction writer whose debut work—a novel or collection of short stories—represents distinguished literary achievement and suggests great promise. The winner receives a cash award of $25,000, a stipend intended to permit a significant degree of leisure in which to pursue a second work of literary fiction. 

Article continues below

The winner will be announced Monday, June 8th at the PEN Literary Awards Ceremony, followed by a reception at The New School’s Theresa Lang Center, 55 W. 13th Street, at 8pm (open to the public, tickets available here).


“Retrospective” by Molly Antopol
From The Un-Americans


Ruby (an excerpt) by Cynthia Bond


Article continues below
“Frago” by Phil Klay
From Redeployment


“Mountain of Swords, Sea of Fire” by Jack Livings
From The Dog


Love Me Back (an excerpt) by Merrit Tierce

More Story
PEN/Bingham Finalist: Cynthia Bond Ruby   Ruby Bell was a constant reminder of what could befall a woman whose shoe heels were too high. The people of Liberty...

Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.