• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Megan Marshall has won this year’s BIO Award.

    Jessie Gaynor

    February 18, 2022, 10:06am

    Last week, the Biographers International Organization (BIO) announced Megan Marshall as the winner of its 13th annual BIO Award, bestowed annually “to a distinguished colleague who has made major contributions to the advancement of the art and craft of biography.”

    Marshall is the author of three biographical works: The Peabody Sisters: Three Women Who Ignited American Romanticism (Houghton Mifflin, 2005), Margaret Fuller: A New American Life (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2013), which won the Pulitzer Prize in Biography, and Elizabeth Bishop: A Miracle for Breakfast.

    Marshall called the award “an astonishing and unexpected honor, and deeply meaningful.”

    I remember the first presentation [of the award] to Jean Strouse, whose example led me into biographical work… and now all through the years, such great exemplars of the craft have been awarded this prize. To think of joining their distinguished company is quite overwhelming.

    Previous honorees include David Levering Lewis, Hermione Lee, Stacy Schiff, Ron Chernow, and Robert Caro.

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: