• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Khadija Abdalla Bajabar has won the Ursula K. Le Guin Prize for Fiction.

    Corinne Segal

    October 24, 2022, 3:01pm

    Khadija Abdalla Bajabar’s The House of Rust has won the inaugural Ursula K. Le Guin Prize for Fiction, Ursula K. Le Guin Literary Trust and Graywolf Press announced on Friday.

    The prize comes with an award of $25,000 for the author. The judging committee noted that two other books were finalists: How High We Go in the Dark by Sequoia Nagamatsu and The Past is Red by Catherynne M. Valente.

    In her acceptance speech, Bajabar spoke about her admiration for Ursula K. Le Guin:

    The heart, craft, and humanity with which Ursula K. Le Guin approached the unfamiliar and the strange makes her one of the most beloved storytellers to readers and writers alike. So it is my honor to see The House of Rust, published by Graywolf Press, recognized now by this prize. I hope to use this prize to further my craft, to better myself as a person as well, and to investigate different ways of telling a story. And I hope that you will see more strange worlds from me, and more strange worlds from many different kinds of writers.

    Congratulations to Bajabar!

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: