• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here’s the shortlist for the Center for Fiction’s 2020 First Novel Prize.

    Rasheeda Saka

    October 1, 2020, 11:05am

    Today the Center for Fiction announced the shortlist for its 2020 First Novel Prize. The prize, first awarded in 2006, recognizes the best debut fiction of the year, and it comes with $15,000; each finalist receives $1,000. Previous winners include De’Shawn Charles Winslow, Tommy Orange, and Viet Than Nguyen.

    Like many shortlists of this year, the shortlist for the 2020 First Novel Prize is comprised mostly of women writers.

    “As a cultural institution, we’ve faced unprecedented challenges this year,” said Interim Executive Director Michael Roberts in a press release. “However, highlighting the remarkable work of emerging authors will always remain a defining feature of the Center for Fiction’s mission.”

    The winner will be honored on the evening of Thursday, December 3rd, 2020, at the Center for Fiction’s virtual fête. Congrats to all!


    2020 First Novel Prize Shortlist

    Amina Cain, Indelicacy

    Maisy Card, These Ghosts Are Family

    Hilary Leichter, Temporary

    Raven Leilani, Luster

    Corey Sobel, The Redshirt

    Douglas Stuart, Shuggie Bain

    C Pam Zhang, How Much of These Hills Is Gold


  • %d bloggers like this: