• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here’s the shortlist for the $50,000 Joyce Carol Oates Prize.

    Katie Yee

    March 5, 2020, 12:50pm

    At a private ceremony today in Lafayette, California, the finalists for this year’s Joyce Carol Oates Prize were announced. (You can read the full press release here.) The finalists were selected by an anonymous jury of publishers, critics, authors, and agents. The prize began in 2017, and is awarded by the Simpson Literary Project to distinguished mid-career fiction writers. Previous winners include T. Geronimo Johnson, Anthony Marra, and Laila Lalami.

    Congratulations to the finalists!


    The Throwback Special_Chris Bachelder

    Chris Bachelder, The Throwback Special
    (W. W. Norton)


    The Mere Wife, Maria Dahvana Headley

    Maria Dahvana Headley, The Mere Wife


    The Great Believers_Rebecca Makkai

    Rebecca Makkai, The Great Believers


    Daniel Mason, The Winter Soldier
    (Little, Brown and Company)


    Peter Orner, Maggie Brown & Others

    Peter Orner, Maggie Brown & Others
    (Little, Brown and Company)


    Dexter Palmer, Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen

    Dexter Palmer, Mary Toft; or, The Rabbit Queen


    Kevin Wilson, Nothing to See Here

    Kevin Wilson, Nothing to See Here
    (Ecco Press)


    The winner will be announced later this month.

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: