The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

Here’s the shortlist for the 2022 Cundill History Prize.

Literary Hub

September 22, 2022, 1:30pm

Today, the jurors for the 2022 Cundill History Prize announced their eight-book shortlist, a collection of books that “shows the range and insight of current history writing.” The winner will be awarded $75,000, and two runners up will receive $10,000 each, making the prize the largest for a book of nonfiction in English.

“While it was a painful process to eliminate some magnificent books from the Cundill History Prize competition, it was a pleasure to read so many excellent historians,” said J.R. McNeill, Chair of the Jury, in a press release. “The eight on the shortlist span a wide range of the historian’s craft, but all share certain virtues: they demonstrate imagination in research, clarity in writing, and they invite readers to see their topics in novel ways. The variety of approaches, methods, perspectives, and subjects on offer in these books confirms my sense that history nowadays is in very good hands.”

The finalists will be announced on October 20th, and the winner will be celebrated at the Cundill History Prize Festival on December 1st. In the meantime, here’s the shortlist:

J.P. Daughton, In The Forest of No Joy
W.W. Norton & Company

Ada Ferrer, Cuba

Henrietta Harrison, The Perils of Interpreting
Princeton University Press

Harald Jähner, Aftermath
Ebury, PRH

Tiya Miles, All That She Carried
Random House

Mae Ngai, The Chinese Question
W.W. Norton & Company

M.E. Sarotte, Not One Inch
Yale University Press

Vladislav M. Zubok, Collapse
Yale University Press

%d bloggers like this: