• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here’s the shortlist for the 2021 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction.

    Rasheeda Saka

    November 17, 2020, 10:48am

    Let’s start our morning right with the latest book news. Today, the American Library Association announced the shortlist of the 2021 Andrew Carnegie Medals for Excellence in Fiction and Nonfiction, which honors the best fiction and nonfiction books for adult readers published in the U.S. in the previous year. The award comes with $5,000 and previous winners include Kiese Laymon, Valeria Luiselli, and Rebecca Makkai.

    From a longlist of 46 titles comes a shortlist of six titles (three in each category):


    Megha Majumdar, A Burning

    James McBride, Deacon King Kong

    Ayad Akhtar, Homeland Elegies


    Rebecca Giggs, Fathoms: The World in the Whale

    Claudia Rankine, Just Us: An American Conversation

    Natasha Trethewey, Memorial Drive: A Daughter’s Memoir

    The two medal winners will be announced by 2021 selection committee chair Bill Kelly at the Reference and User Services Association’s Book and Media Awards (BMAs) event, which will take place online on February 4, 2021 from 3-4pm CST.

    Congrats to all!

    [h/t American Libraries Magazine]

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: