• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here’s the longlist for the 2023 National Book Award for Poetry.

    Literary Hub

    September 14, 2023, 10:15am

    Today, the National Book Foundation announced the longlist for the 2023 National Book Award for Poetry. The ten titles on the longlist were selected from a pool of 295 books submitted for consideration by their publishers; this year’s judges for Poetry are Rick Barot, Heid E. Erdrich (Chair), Jonathan Farmer, Raina J. León, and Solmaz Sharif.

    The finalists in all categories will be announced on Tuesday, October 3, and the winners will be revealed at the National Book Awards Ceremony on November 15, 2023.

    Here’s the 2023 Poetry longlist:

    John Lee Clark, How to Communicate
    (W. W. Norton & Company)

    Oliver de la Paz, The Diaspora Sonnets
    (Liveright / W. W. Norton & Company)

    Annelyse Gelman, Vexations
    (University of Chicago Press)

    José Olivarez, Promises of Gold
    (Henry Holt and Company / Macmillan Publishers)

    Craig Santos Perez, from unincorporated territory [åmot]
    (Omnidawn Publishing)

    Paisley Rekdal, West: A Translation
    (Copper Canyon Press)

    Brandon Som, Tripas
    (Georgia Review Books / University of Georgia Press)

    Charif Shanahan, Trace Evidence
    (Tin House Books)

    Evie Shockley, suddenly we
    (Wesleyan University Press)

    Monica Youn, From From
    (Graywolf Press)

  • %d bloggers like this: