• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here’s the first trailer for The Plot Against America.

    Jessie Gaynor

    January 30, 2020, 3:11pm

    Good news for fans of Philip Roth, The Wire, and unnervingly timely media: HBO has dropped the first trailer for David Simon’s miniseries adaptation of The Plot Against America.

    Roth’s novel is an alternate history of America in which aviation hero/anti-Semitic populist Charles Lindbergh defeats “hawkish” FDR in the 1940 presidential election. Not too hard to draw parallels between that plot and our current reality, and based on the trailer, David Simon isn’t exactly shying away from them.

    The series stars Winona Ryder, John Turturro, Zoe Kazan, and others. It premiers March 16 on HBO.

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    x
    %d bloggers like this: