The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

Here is the shortlist for the 2021 Cundill History Prize.

Snigdha Koirala

September 23, 2021, 1:30pm

Today McGill University announced the shortlist for the 2021 Cundill History Prize, prestigious nonfiction award that goes to a book that, alongside historical scholarship, “offers originality, literary quality, and a broad appeal.” The jury—chaired this year by Michael Ignatieff—will reward the winning historian a generous $75,000, and will honor two runners-up with the $10,000 Recognition of Excellence Award. Previous winners have included Thomas Laquer, Susan Pedersen, and Lisa Jardine.

Below are the shortlisted titles.


The Loss of Hindustan

Manan Ahmed Asif’s The Loss of Hindustan: The Invention of India (Harvard University Press)

Rebecca Clifford’s Survivors: Children’s Lives After the Holocaust (Yale University Press)

The Horde
Marie Favereau’s The Horde: How the Mongols Changed the World (Belknap Press of Harvard University Press)

Underground Asia
Tim Harper’s Underground Asia: Global Revolutionaries and the Assault on Empire (Penguin Press)

Martha Jones’s Vanguard: How Black Women Broke Barriers, Won the Vote, and Insisted on Equality for All (Hachette Book Group)

Blood on the River
Marjoleine Kars’ Blood on the River: A Chronicle of Mutiny and Freedom on the Wild Coast (The New Press)

An Infinite History
Emma Rothschild’s An Infinite History: The Story of a Family in France over Three Centuries (Princeton University Press)

White Freedom
Tyler Stovall’s White Freedom: The Racial History of an Idea (Princeton University Press)

%d bloggers like this: