• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are this year’s World Fantasy Award winners.

    Snigdha Koirala

    November 8, 2021, 2:49pm

    The winners of this year’s World Fantasy Awards were announced this weekend at the World Fantasy Convention in Montreal, Canada. Considered one of the most prestigious honors for fantasy and speculative fiction, the award celebrates writers and artists who published work during the previous calendar year. Previous winners include C.L. Polk, Emma Törzs, and Kij Johnson. Writers Megan Lindholm and Howard Waldrop were also honored at the convention with Lifetime Achievement Awards.

    Congratulations to all!


    Alaya Dawn Johnson, Trouble the Saints (best novel)

    Tochi Onyebuchi, Riot Baby (best novella)

    Celeste Rita Baker, “Glass Bottle Dancer” (best short fiction)

    Ann and Jeff VanderMeer ed., The Big Book of Modern Fantasy (best anthology)

    Aoko Matsuda, Where the Wild Ladies Are, translated by Polly Barton (collection)

    Rovina Cai (artist)

    C.C. Finlay for The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction (special award—professional)

    Brian Attebery for Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts (special award—non-Professional)

    [via Tor]

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: