The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

Here are this year’s finalists for The Story Prize.

Emily Temple

January 10, 2023, 8:00am

This morning, The Story Prize—which seeks to recognize the best short story collection published every year—announced its three 2023 finalists. “We continue to be astounded by the range and variety of short story collections we read each year. These three books were beautifully written and original, with each story in each book contributing to a cohesive and impactful whole,” said Larry Dark, Director of The Story Prize, in a press release.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday, March 15, and will be awarded $20,000; each runner-up will receive $5,000.

The finalists are:

Andrea Barrett, Natural History: Stories

Andrea Barrett, Natural History
(W.W. Norton)

Ling Ma, Bliss Montage
Ling Ma, Bliss Montage

Morgan Talty, Night of the Living RezMorgan Talty, Night of the Living Rez
(Tin House)

%d bloggers like this: