• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are this year’s finalists for The Story Prize.

    Snigdha Koirala

    February 8, 2022, 7:31am

    This morning, The Story Prize announced this year’s three finalists. Now in its 18th year, the prize recognizes short story collections and seeks to bring more attention to the form. Previous winners have included Edwidge Danticat, George Saunders, and Deesha Phillyaw.

    This year’s finalists have been chosen from 119 titles published in 2021 from 90 different presses and imprints. “By virtue of their skillful, bold, and distinctive storytelling,” Larry Dark, the director of the prize, said in a press release, “these three books stood out from the deepest pool of quality story collections we’ve ever read.”

    The winner of the prize will receive $20,000, and the two runners-up will receive $5,000 each. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, April 13 at a live-streamed private ceremony that will include readings and interviews from the three finalists.

    Below are this year’s finalists:

    Lily King, Five Tuesdays in Winter
    (Grove Press)

    J. Robert Lennon, Let Me Think
    (Graywolf Press)

    Brandon Taylor, Filthy Animals
    (Riverhead Books)

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: