• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the winners of this year’s Costa Book Awards.


    January 6, 2022, 12:53pm

    This week saw the announcement of this year’s Costa Book Awards, a set of annual literary awards which recognize and honor British and Irish writers of the English language. Each award comes with £5,000; the author of the Costa Book of the Year, picked from these winners and announced in late January, will receive an additional £30,000. Previous Book of the Year winners include Helen Macdonald and Hilary Mantel.

    Without further ado, this year’s Costa Book Awards winners:


    2021 First Novel Award: Caleb Azumah Nelson, Open Water (Viking)

    2021 Novel Award: Claire Fuller, Unsettled Ground (Fig Tree)

    2021 Biography Award: John Preston, Fall: The Mystery of Robert Maxwell (Viking)

    2021 Poetry Award: Hannah Lowe, The Kids (Bloodaxe Books)

    2021 Children’s Book Award: Manjeet Mann, The Crossing (Penguin)


    Congratulations to those recognized!

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: