• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the winners of the inaugural Silvers-Dudley Prizes for criticism and journalism.


    January 5, 2022, 2:03pm

    Today, the Robert B. Silvers Foundation announced the winners of the inaugural Silvers-Dudley Prizes, recognizing outstanding achievement in criticism and journalism. Named for Robert B. Silvers, a founding editor of the New York Review of Books, and his longtime partner, Lady Grace Dudley, the prizes have a total value of $135,000 and range from $10,000 to $30,000 each.

    “These prizes richly reward a kind of writing that has long been under-recognized in the economy of literary prize-giving—long-form criticism, the intellectual essay, and arts writing—along with the penetrating journalism that Bob nurtured at the New York Review,” said author and critic Daniel Mendelsohn, Director of the Robert B. Silvers Foundation. “In his will, Bob stipulated that the Foundation work to “support writers”; with these new prizes, we like to think we’re doing just that—both encouraging younger critics, essayists, and reporters and recognizing writers who have made such significant contributions in the genres that Bob and Grace—a passionate enthusiast of the arts loved and cared about so deeply.”

    Without further ado, here are the winners of the Silvers-Dudley Prizes:


    The 2021 Robert B. Silvers Prize for Literary Criticism
    recognizing achievement in longform literary criticism and the intellectual and cultural essay

    Elaine Blair, Los Angeles-based critic

    Merve Emre, associate professor of American Literature at Oxford University

    Becca Rothfeld, Cambridge-based critic

    The 2021 Grace Dudley Prize for Arts Writing
    recognizing achievement in critical writing on the fine and performing arts or on cultural history

    Vinson Cunningham, staff writer and theater critic for The New Yorker

    Jason Farago, critic at large for the New York Times

    Ingrid Rowland, Rome-based Renaissance art specialist

    The 2021 Robert B. Silvers Prize for Journalism
    recognizing achievement in reporting, long-form political analysis, or commentary

    Alma Guillermoprito, Mexican journalist and author

    Nesrine Malik, London-based columnist for The Guardian and Foreign Policy and panelist on the BBC’s Dateline London

    Thomas Meaney, Berlin-based writer on politics and literature


    Congratulations to all recognized!

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: