• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the winners of the 2023 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards.

    Literary Hub

    April 3, 2023, 8:00pm

    Today, the Cleveland Foundation announced the winners of its 88th annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, which seek to recognize books that “have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and our appreciation of the rich diversity of human cultures.”

    “These remarkable books deliver groundbreaking insights on race and diversity,” said jury chair Henry Louis Gates Jr. in a statement. “This year, we honor a profound and funny novel centered in a Chinese restaurant, a brilliant story of 19th-century horseracing with contemporary echoes, a stunning poetry collection that captures who we are now, and a meticulous history that recasts our understanding of World War II. All are capped by the lifetime achievement of Charlayne Hunter-Gault, who remade this country with her courage and her nuanced reporting.”

    The 2023 recipients are:

    Geraldine Brooks, Horse (Viking)
    Lan Samantha Chang, The Family Chao (W.W. Norton)

    Matthew F. Delmont, Half American: The Epic Story of African Americans Fighting World War II at Home and Abroad (Viking)

    Saeed Jones, Alive at the End of the World (Coffee House Press)

    Lifetime Achievement:
    Charlayne Hunter-Gault

  • %d bloggers like this: