• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the winners of the 2023-2024 Rome Prize in literature.

    Emily Temple

    April 24, 2023, 5:03pm

    The American Academy in Rome, America’s oldest overseas center for independent studies in advanced research in the arts and humanities, has announced the winners of the 2023-24 Rome Prize, which aims to gift its recipients with “time and space to think and work.” Winners receive a stipend, workspace, and room and board at the Academy’s campus in Rome.

    Rome Prize winners in eleven disciplines—ancient studies, architecture, design, historic preservation and conservation, landscape architecture, literature, medieval studies, modern Italian studies, music composition, Renaissance and early modern studies, and visual art—are selected annually by independent juries of artists and scholars. Past winners in literature include Ralph Ellison, Anthony Doerr, Alexandra Kleeman, and Robert Penn Warren.

    This year’s Rome Prize fellows in literature are Elif Batuman, Erica Hunt, Katie Kitamura, and Shruti Swamy.

    “This class of Rome Prize winners once again includes some of America’s most gifted scholars and artists,” said Mark Robbins, President and CEO, in a press release. “Their fellowship experience, living and working in a multidisciplinary community in Rome, has an enduring impact individually and on the wider intellectual and cultural sphere.”

    You can see the full list of fellows here.

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: