• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the winners of the 2021 Orwell Prizes.


    June 25, 2021, 11:17am

    The Orwell Foundation, which uses the work of George Orwell to celebrate honest writing and reporting, has announced the winners of their 2021 Orwell Prizes. The Orwell Prizes are the UK’s most prestigious prizes for political writing; every year, the Foundation awards prizes for the work—in the categories of political writing, political fiction, journalism, and “exposing Britain’s social evils”—which comes closest to George Orwell’s ambition “to make political writing into an art.”

    Without further ado, here are this year’s Orwell Prize winners:


    Political Writing Book Prize: Joshua Yaffa, Between Two Fires: Truth, Ambition and Compromise in Putin’s Russia (Granta) 

    Political Fiction Book Prize: Ali Smith, Summer (Hamish Hamilton)

    Journalism Prize: John Harris and John Domokos, “Anywhere But Westminster” video series (The Guardian)

    Exposing Britain’s Social Evils: Annabel Deas, “Hope High” podcast (BBC Radio)


    Congratulations to those recognized!

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: