The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

Here are the winners of the 2021 Locus Awards.


June 28, 2021, 10:33am

This weekend Locus Magazine, which has published news about news about the science fiction, fantasy and horror publishing field since 1968, announced the recipients of their 2021 Locus Awards in a virtual ceremony. Without further ado, here is the list of winners:


Science Fiction Novel:
Martha Wells, Network Effect (Tordotcom Publishing)

Fantasy Novel:
N.K. Jemisin, The City We Became (Orbit US & UK)

Horror Novel:
Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Mexican Gothic (Del Rey; Jo Fletcher)

Young Adult Novel:
T. Kingfisher, A Wizard’s Guide to Defensive Baking (Argyll)

First Novel:
Darcie Little Badger, Elatsoe (Levine Querido)

P. Djèlí Clark, Ring Shout (Tordotcom Publishing)

Meg Elison, “The Pill” (Big Girl)

Short Story:
Naomi Kritzer, “Little Free Library” ( 4/8/20)

Jonathan Strahan, ed. The Book of Dragons (Harper Voyager US & UK)

Ken Liu, The Hidden Girl and Other Stories (Saga Press; Head of Zeus)


Tor Books

Ellen Datlow

John Picacio

Marc Burrows, The Magic of Terry Pratchett (White Owl)

Illustrated and Art Book:
Piers Bizony, The Art of NASA: The Illustrations that Sold the Missions (Motorbooks)

The 2021 Locus Special Award was given to Bill Campbell and Rosarium Publishing for amplifying marginalized voices.


The virtual ceremony can be viewed here. Congratulations to all recognized!

%d bloggers like this: