• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the finalists for the NYPL’s Helen Bernstein Award, which celebrates working journalists.

    Katie Yee

    February 21, 2020, 3:39pm

    Since 1988, the New York Public Library’s Helen Bernstein Book Award for Excellence in Journalism has been shining a light on journalists who call attention to vital current events or societal issues. The titles up for consideration this year tackle domestic violence, sexual harassment, mass incarceration, migration, and the unheard-of injustices that occur in the open ocean. (Last year’s winner was Shane Bauer for American Prison: A Reporter’s Undercover Journey Into the Business of Punishment.) The winner will be announced on April 28th at a reception held at NYPL’s Stephan A. Schwarzman Building. In addition to the award, the winner will receive a $15,000 cash prize.

    Congratulations to all the finalists!


    No Visible Bruises

    Rachel Louise Snyder, No Visible Bruises

    Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, She Said

    Jodi Kantor & Megan Twohey, She Said
    (Penguin Press)

    Charged_Emily Bazelon

    Emily Bazelon, Charged
    (Random House)

    a good provider is one who leaves_jason deparle

    Jason DeParle, A Good Provider Is One Who Leaves

    Ian Urbina, The Outlaw Ocean

    Ian Urbina, The Outlaw Ocean

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: