The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

Here are the finalists for CLMP’s Firecracker Awards (or, a perfect indie reading list).

Katie Yee

May 18, 2022, 11:38am

This is the eighth year that the Community of Literary Magazines and Presses is celebrating indie publishing with the Firecracker Awards—and the first year that it’s giving award recipients a cash prize! Each winner in the books category will receive $1,000 for the press and $1,000 for the author/translator; winners in the magazine category will also receive $1,000.

They have also announced the recipient of this year’s Lord Nose Award (given to an individual who has demonstrated a lifetime of incredible dedication to indie publishing). Give it up for Bradford Morrow, editor of the much-loved Conjunctions—which is NOT shutting down!

At a virtual ceremony on June 23, Bradford Morrow will be presented with the award, and the winners will be announced. Mark your calendars.



Ethan Rutherford, Farthest South and Other Stories
(A Strange Object)

Kate Cayley, Householders

Khadija Abdalla Bajaber, The House of Rust: A Novel

Celeste Mohammed, Pleasantview
(Ig Publishing)

Percival Everett, The Trees: A Novel



Victoria Chang, Dear Memory: Letters on Writing Silence, and Grief
(Milkweed Editions)

Caseen Gaines, Footnotes: The Black Artists Who Rewrote the Rules of the Great White Way

Mariana Oliver, tr. Julia Sanches, Migratory Birds
(Transit Books)

Thirii Myo Kyaw Myint, Names for Light: A Family History

Allison Cobb, Plastic: An Autobiography



Truong Tran, book of the other: small in comparison
(Kaya Press)

Divya Victor, CURB
(Nightboat Books)

Therese Estacion, Phantompains
(Book*hug Press)

Jennifer Jackson Berry, To Know Crush
(YesYes Books)

Sophia Terazawa, Winter Phoenix: Testimonies in Verse
(Deep Vellum)




Inverted Syntax

Islandia Journal

Nowruz Journal




The American Poetry Review

Bellevue Literary Review

Chicago Review

The Evergreen Review

Obsidian: Literature & Arts in the African Diaspora

%d bloggers like this: