• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the 2023 Whiting Award winners.

    Literary Hub

    March 29, 2023, 7:31pm

    The crop of emerging writers who will receive $50,000 as a Whiting Award winner has been announced. Ten writers across fiction, nonfiction, drama, and poetry received the prize at the March 29 ceremony, with a keynote address by Pulitzer Prize winner and PEN president Ayad Akhtar.

    Article continues below

    Previous Whiting Award winners include Colson Whitehead, Jericho Brown, Catherine Lacey, Ocean Vuong, Ling Ma and Esmé Weijun Wang.

    The 2022 Whiting Award winners are:

    Marcia Douglas, author of The Marvellous Equations of the Dread (Fiction)

    Sidik Fofana, author of Stories from the Tenants Downstairs (Fiction)

    Article continues below

    Carribean Fragoza, author of Eat the Mouth That Feeds You (Fiction)

    R. Kikuo Johnson, author of No One Else (Fiction) 

    Linda Kinstler, a contributing writer for The Economist’s 1843 Magazine (Nonfiction)

    Stephania Taladrid, a contributing writer at the New Yorker (Nonfiction)

    Tommye Blount, author of the collection Fantasia for the Man in Blue (Poetry)

    Article continues below

    Ama Codjoe, author of Bluest Nude (Poetry)

    Emma Wippermann, author of the forthcoming Joan of Arkansas (Poetry and Drama)

    Mia Chung, author of the play Catch as Catch Can (Drama)

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.