The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

Here are the 2020 grantees of the Andy Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant.

Rasheeda Saka

November 18, 2020, 11:11am

Today, the Andy Warhol Foundation announced the 22 recipients of its Arts Writers Grant, which recognizes the invaluable contribution of arts writers to visual artistic culture. The Grant supports both emerging and established writers of articles, books, or short-form writing, with awards ranging from $15,000 to $50,000. This year the grant comes to a total of $675,000.

“Art writing that is incisive and attuned to the cultural moment positions artists as key contributors to urgent conversations in and beyond the art world,” said Joel Wachs, president of the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts. “Through their rigorous and generous engagement with artists and art works, their close reading of historical and cultural contexts, and their creative juxtaposition of disparate practices, arts writers illuminate the unique way art engages with and explicates our idea of a national consciousness.”

The 22 grantees are listed by category as follows:


Angie Baecker “The Art Group and the Avant Garde: Collective Practices and the Socialist Legacy in Contemporary China”

Cecilia Fajardo-Hill “Patssi Valdez: ‘I dare you question me,’ A Radical Photographic Portraiture”

Erica Moiah James “Juan Francisco Elso: La luz de las cosas / The Light of Things”

Arnold Joseph Kemp “Who is this black, queer curator? If you don’t remember it and do him, his last name is McShine”

Oluremi C. Onabanjo “The Conditions of the Archive: Marilyn Nance and FESTAC 77”


Sergio Delgado Moya A Nervous Archive: Sensationalism and the Potency of Horror

Ariel Goldberg Just Captions: Ethics of Trans and Queer Image Cultures

Naeem Mohaiemen + Anjali Singh Harmit Singh’s War

Jerry Philogene The Socially Dead and Improbably Citizen: Visualizing Haitian Liberation

Jeannine Tang Living Legends: The Art and Care of Queer and Transgender History

Joseph L. Underwood Forging a New Contemporary: Art from Senegal in Transnational Networks, 1974-1984

Short-Form Writing 

Ratik Asokan

Jessica Baran

Barbara Calderón

Dan Fox

Bean Gilsdorf

Colony Little

Jessica Lynne

Lauren O’Neill-Butler Amy Taubin

Monica Uszerowicz

%d bloggers like this: