• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    De’Shawn Charles Winslow wins 2019 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize.

    Dan Sheehan

    December 11, 2019, 12:00pm

    Huge congratulations to De’Shawn Charles Winslow, who last night took home the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize for his acclaimed debut In West Mills.

    Winslow was presented with the prestigious prize—which has in previous years been awarded to Junot Diaz, Tiphanie Yanique, Viet Thanh Nguyen, and Tommy Orange, to name but a few—by former PEN/Robert Bingham and Young Lions Award-winner Monique Truong at the Center’s Annual Benefit and Awards Dinner in New York last night.

    A decades-spanning tale of family upheaval and painful secrets centered around an independent and free-spirited  black woman in a close-knit Carolina community, In West Mills has already received rave reviews from The New York Times, The Boston Globe, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, and more.

    Along with a pretty slick-looking glass trophy, as the 2019 CFFNP winner Wills also received a check for a cool $10,000.

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: