The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

Bernardine Evaristo and Margaret Atwood share this year’s Booker Prize.

Jessie Gaynor

October 15, 2019, 10:24am

The 2019 Booker Prize has been awarded to Bernardine Evaristo for Girl, Woman, Other and Margaret Atwood for The Testaments. The two will share the £50,000 prize. This is the third time the Booker has been split—in 1974 between Nadine Gordimer and Stanley Middleton, and in 1992 between Michael Ondaatje and Barry Unsworth.

Evaristo is the first black woman to win the Booker in the prize’s 51 year history. This is Atwood’s second Booker—she won in 2000 for The Blind Assassin.


%d bloggers like this: