• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Asako Serizawa has won the 2021 Story Prize Spotlight Award.

    Rasheeda Saka

    February 10, 2021, 12:11pm

    The Story Spotlight Prize, established in 2014, honors books of exceptional promise by first-time authors; collections in alternative formats; or works that demonstrate an unusual perspective on the writer’s craft. The Award comes with a cash prize of $1,000, and previous winners include Krys Lee, Ben Stroud, and Randa Jarrar.

    This year, the winner is Asako Serizawa, for her debut collection Inheritors, a meditation on the suppressed histories of people living by the Pacific side during World War II.

    Serizawa was born in Japan and grew up in Singapore, Jakarta, and Tokyo. She has received two O. Henry Prizes, a Pushcart Prize, and a Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Award. A recent fiction fellow at the Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, she currently lives in Boston.

    A hearty congrats!

    Asako Serizawa, for her debut collection Inheritors


  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: