• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Announcing this year’s winner of the $75,000 Cundill History Prize.

    Literary Hub

    November 8, 2023, 10:15pm

    Tania Branigan has won the 2023 Cundill History Prize for Red Memory: Living, Remembering and Forgetting China’s Cultural Revolution.

    “Haunting and memorable, Tania Branigan’s sensitive study of the impact of the Cultural Revolution on the lives and psyches of an entire generation in China affected every juror, as it will every reader,” said Philippa Levine, Jury Chair, in a statement. “All of us found ourselves unable to stop thinking about this extraordinary book. All of us were deeply moved by the trauma she so vividly describes and by the skills on which she drew in doing so. This is a must-read.”

    The Cundill History Prize comes with a purse of $75,000; the largest for a book of nonfiction published in English, and is awarded every year to “a work of outstanding history writing.” Finalists Kate Cooper (Queens of a Fallen World: The Lost Women of Augustine’s Confessions) and James Morton Turner (Charged: A History of Batteries and Lessons for a Clean Energy Future) were each awarded $10,000.

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: