• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    The Whiting Foundation awarded $50,000 to each of these emerging writers.

    Katie Yee

    March 25, 2020, 7:22pm

    The Whiting Foundation has been doing the vital work of supporting emerging writers for the past 35 years. Annually, The Whiting Awards grants $50,000 each to ten emerging fiction and nonfiction writers, poets, and playwrights. These grants have identified and celebrated some of the most influential voices in contemporary literature today, including Ocean Vuong, Esmé Weijun Wang, Michael R. Jackson, Alexander Chee, Tracy K. Smith, Lydia Davis, Colson Whitehead, Yiyun Li, and Jericho Brown, to name a few.

    Unfortunately, on account of the continual spread of COVID-19, the traditional ceremony has been canceled. Plans for a future celebration are forthcoming. Until then, let’s show some love for this year’s winners!



    Genevieve Sly Crane

    Andrea Lawlor

    Ling Ma



    Jaquira Díaz

    Jia Tolentino



    Aria Aber

    Diannely Antigua

    Jake Skeets

    Genya Turovskaya



    Will Arbery


  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: