The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

The Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize named 11 recipients this year, awarding a total of $1.1 million.

Corinne Segal

September 8, 2022, 1:00pm

The Poetry Foundation today announced the winners of its annual Pegasus Awards, including a sweeping expansion of its Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize, the prestigious lifetime achievement award normally given to one living poet each year.

This year, 11 poets received the prize in honor of the 110th anniversary of POETRY magazine: that’s a total of $1.1 million in prize money, with about $100,000 going to each poet.

The foundation also named Elizabeth Acevedo as the 2022–2024 Young People’s Poet Laureate and awarded the 2022 Pegasus Award for Poetry Criticism to Kevin Quashie.

Here are the 2022 Lilly Prize winners:

Sandra Cisneros
Rita Dove
Nikki Giovanni
Juan Felipe Herrera
Angela Jackson
Haki Madhubuti
Sharon Olds
Sonia Sanchez
Patti Smith
Arthur Sze

Congratulations to them all!

%d bloggers like this: