• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here is the shortlist for the 2023 Carol Shields Prize.

    Janet Manley

    April 6, 2023, 11:08am

    The Carol Shields Prize is the largest prize for women and non-binary writers, with a $150,000 windfall for the winner, and $12,500 for runners-up. It aims to improve representation of works by female and nonbinary writers, and readership of same.

    Article continues below

    The shortlist was announced this morning, and the winner will be announced at a live-streamed event taking place at 6:30 CDT at Parnassus.

    The 2023 Carol Shields Prize shortlist:

    Daphne Palasi Andreades, Brown Girls (Random House)

    Fatimah Asghar, When We Were Sisters (One World)

    Article continues below

    Talia Lakshmi Kolluri, What We Fed to the Manticore (Tin House)

    Suzette Mayr, The Sleeping Car Porter (Coach House Books)

    Alexis Schaitkin, Elsewhere (Celadon Books)

    Carol Shields was the author of more than 20 books, and her novel The Stone Diaries won the Governor General’s Literary Award in Canada, and the Pulitzer Prize, and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. Her novel Larry’s Party won the Orange Prize (now called the Women’s Prize for Fiction).

    Article continues below

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.