• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the winners of this year’s National Book Critics Circle awards.

    Jessie Gaynor

    March 17, 2022, 8:30pm

    This evening, during a virtual event, the National Book Critics Circle announced the recipients of its 2021 book awards, spread across six categories, and also awarded the previously announced Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award (to the Percival Everett), the Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing (to Merve Emre), and the Toni Morrison Achievement Award, established by the NBCC in 2021 to honor institutions that have made lasting and meaningful contributions to book culture (to Cave Canem Foundation). The winners were chosen from a shortlist of finalists by the 24-member board of directors, which consists of editors and critics from across the country. The full list of winners is below:

    Jeremy Atherton Lin, Gay Bar: Why We Went Out (Little, Brown)

    Rebecca Donner, All the Frequent Troubles of Our Days: The True Story of the American Woman at the Heart of the German Resistance to Hitler (Little, Brown)

    Melissa Febos, Girlhood (Bloomsbury)

    Honorée Fanonne Jeffers, The Love Songs of W.E.B. Du Bois (Harper)

    Clint Smith, How the Word is Passed (Little, Brown)

    Diane Seuss, frank: sonnets (Graywolf)

    The John Leonard Prize
    Anthony Veasna So, Afterparties (Ecco)


    The Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing
    Merve Emre

    The Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award
    Percival Everett

    The Tony Morrison Achievement Award
    Cave Canem Foundation