• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the winners of the 2024 Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards.

    Literary Hub

    March 26, 2024, 8:00pm

    Today, the Cleveland Foundation announced the winners of its 89th annual Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards, which seek to recognize books that “have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and our appreciation of the rich diversity of human cultures.”

    “It is a great pleasure to recognize this year’s winners, who have used their unique voices and experiences to spark critical conversations,” said jury chair Natasha Trethewey, in a statement. “This class joins past recipients, who include literary luminaries and contemporary thought leaders, in leveraging the power of words to explore and confront some of the most challenging topics facing us today.”

    “The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards illuminate the path to social justice through literature’s transformative power. The best art does not simply reflect human experience—it challenges us and advances our humanity,” said Lillian Kuri, president and CEO of the Cleveland Foundation, in a statement. “Edith Anisfield Wolf understood this when she established the book awards nearly 90 years ago. Today, the Cleveland Foundation is proud to carry forward her legacy by celebrating literary excellence that catalyzes change in ourselves and in our communities.”

    The 2024 recipients are:

    Lifetime Achievement:
    Maxine Hong Kingston

    Ned Blackhawk, The Rediscovery of America

    Teju Cole, Tremor

    Monica Youn, From From

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: