• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the finalists for the 2023 Young Lions Fiction Award.

    Janet Manley

    April 19, 2023, 2:42pm

    One more reason to love the New York Public Library—the Young Lions Fiction Award, which was founded by Ethan Hawke, Jennifer Rudolph Walsh, Rick Moody, and Hannah McFarland, and recognizes American fiction writers 35 and under with a $10,000 prize. Past recipients include Catherine Lacey and Ling Ma.

    Article continues below

    This year’s judges are Jessamine Chan, Claire Luchette, and Kalani Pickhart, who took out last year’s prize, and their picks for 2023 have been announced.

    The 2023 finalists: 

    Fatimah Asghar, When We Were Sisters

    Elaine Hsieh Chou, Disorientation 

    Article continues below

    Zain Khalid, Brother Alive

    Reyes Ramirez, The Book of Wanderers

    David Sanchez, All Day is a Long Time

    The winner will be announced on June 15.

    Article continues below

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.