• The Hub

    News, Notes, Talk

    Here are the 2022 National Endowment for the Arts Creative Writing Fellows.


    January 11, 2022, 11:29am

    The National Endowment for the Arts has made public their list of this year’s recipients of Literature Fellowships in Creative Writing, which provide $25,000 grants to published creative writers that enable the recipients to set aside time for writing, research, travel, and general career advancement. The Arts Endowment awards fellowships in poetry in odd years and in prose in even years; this year, all the fellows are prose writers.

    Here are the NEA’s 2022 Creative Writing Fellows:

    Steve Almond

    Sonya Bilocerkowycz

    Marci Calabretta Cancio-Bello

    Yohanca Delgado

    Christopher Dennis

    Chris Drangle

    Dewaine Farria

    Melissa Febos

    Harrison Candelaria Fletcher

    Tope Folarin

    Kelli Jo Ford

    Calvin Gimpelevich

    Alexis Pauline Gumbs

    Rachel Heng

    Aubrey Hirsch

    Elliott Holt

    Nalo Hopkinson

    Marjan Kamali

    Violet Kupersmith

    Sanaë Lemoine

    Peyton Marshall

    Nina McConigley

    LaTanya McQueen

    Tomás Q. Morín

    Brice Particelli

    Natanya Ann Pulley

    Leta McCollough Seletzky

    Asako Serizawa

    Jen Silverman

    Shruti Swamy

    Morgan Talty

    Grace Talusan

    Daniel Tam-Claiborne

    Laura van den Berg

    Yvonne Woon


    You can browse the fellows’ bios, artist statements, and writing excerpts here. Congratulations to all!

  • Become a Lit Hub Supporting Member: Because Books Matter

    For the past decade, Literary Hub has brought you the best of the book world for free—no paywall. But our future relies on you. In return for a donation, you’ll get an ad-free reading experience, exclusive editors’ picks, book giveaways, and our coveted Joan Didion Lit Hub tote bag. Most importantly, you’ll keep independent book coverage alive and thriving on the internet.

    %d bloggers like this: