The Hub

News, Notes, Talk

Five brilliant young bards honored by the Poetry Foundation.

Dan Sheehan

August 27, 2019, 3:00pm

Congratulations to Franny Choi, Jane Huffman, José Olivarez, Justin Phillip Reed, and Michael Wasson, who were today announced by The Poetry Foundation and Poetry magazine as the winners of the 2019 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowships. The fellowship program, now in its 30th year of honoring bright young bards, is among the largest and most prestigious awards available for poets in the United States, with each awardee receiving a cool $25,800 purse (who says there’s no money in poetry?) as well as publication in Poetry.

The new fellows (who were selected from a whopping 1,573 submissions) will make their first joint appearance at Poetry Day on October 3 in Chicago in honor of the 30th anniversary.

[h/t Poetry Foundation]

%d bloggers like this: